Sports Turf Association for Australia formed

The Sports Turf Association (STA), Australia has announced that the executives from each STA region formally met on June 23, during the 30th Australian
Turfgrass Conference held at the Gold Coast, and agreed to proceed with previously discussed plans to establish a senior executive and incorporated
association to act and function as the national representative of all the State associations.

Sports Turf Association for Australia formed

The National Executive of the Sports Turf Association, Australia after voting (left to right): John Hagan (standing in for Malcolm Caddies), Peter LeRiche, Chris Chapman (Vice President), Jenny Zadro (Admin), Tony Guy (President), Nathan Tovey (Treasurer), Scott Harris. Absent: Chris Hay.

Following a round of nominations and the subsequent vote conducted by all STA regions on June 25, the inaugural executive committee for the STA, Australia
2014-2015 will be:

  • President: Mr Tony Guy (Western Australia)
  • Vice-president: Mr Chris Chapman (New South Wales)
  • Treasurer: Mr Nathan Tovey (Victoria)
  • Committee members: Mr Malcolm Caddies (Queensland)
  • Mr Peter Le Riche (South Australia)
  • Mr Scott Harris (Australian Capital Territory)
  • Mr Chris Hay (Tasmania)

This is an exciting time for the turf industry as the STA, Australia will be able to act as a supporting focal point for all aspects of communication,
education and industry development to the State associations and, in turn, for all persons involved in the commercial sports turf and amenity turf
management throughout Australia.

“I am very honoured and privileged to be accorded this responsibility,” Mr Guy said.

“While a lot of work awaits us over the next twelve months building this national association, I am equally enthralled and enthused at the prospect of
helping develop such an amazing potential that exists for the future of the sports turf industry in Australia.”

The STA Australia is now seeking sponsorship to assist development throughout its inaugural year. For more information please contact Jenny Zadro on 0408
441 119 or or write to
Sports Turf Association Australia, c/- PO Box 230, Kenthurst NSW 2156.

No Tags

359 total views, 1 today


359 total views, 1 today

Premium Wordpress Themes